John Galea's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Is cable TV now irrelevant?

For a long time I have had a media center PC beside my TV with a TV tuner in it capturing the TV shows I like to watch. I love it. No need to watch commercials, it automatically grabs the program guide from the internet it just works. I was thinking about rebuilding this machine and upgrading the TV tuner card when I realized more and more I am downloading the episode rather than watching it. Then I thought to myself I wonder if there is a program that I could use that would do it for me. Le Voila! TED or Torrent Episode Downloader is a SourceForge product that acts as a front end to torrents. You tell it the TV series you are interested in, then you tell it to find the latest episode and it will go out find it, and download the torrent that your torrent client will then go grab. The program knows the list of episodes, air dates everything. Unbelievable. Well done. The time saver this is! If you tell it to download an episode say 15 it knows to grab everything newer after 15 too. Incredible. Special thanks go out to Campbell for telling me about this program!

May 19, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. you could try cuevana.tv its great for movies and series, no need to download and great quality

    Comment by Alberto | April 26, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

