John Galea's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Official Telus Desire 2.2 release

I went this morning to check for updates manually (Settings, About phone, Check for updates) and low and behold there it was the official 2.2 release from Telus!.

First off it let me download it over WIFI or the cell network.

Once downloaded it gave me the option to install it now or later:

It then tried to do a backup (which failed, it said it couldn’t write to the SD card). It then rebooted the phone and installed the update anyway.

It took 3 reboots and about 20 minutes or so to complete. The phone came backup and announced:

It then rebooted again twice. Finally it settled down and sure enough the update was confirmed in the settings About phone, Software section:

I had to re-enter the APN for Fido after the upgrade. Immediately the market place detected updates to GMAIL which was one of the reasons I was looking forward to the upgrade to 2.2. I missed the new features. I immediatley got back the ability to change email’s notify once feature and change the text size!

I had unlocked my phone and the unlock was still there after the upgrade, no need to re-apply.

All of my settings were preserved and all installed programs were there.

I’ve got to test it out to see what if anything might be broken.

This was the smoothest OS upgrade on a phone I’ve ever experience. Even easier than the iPhone in that it could be done over the air without a trip back to iTunes. Of course the lack of a path back to the previous release is not great … (or none that I know of)

November 1, 2010 - Posted by | Android

1 Comment »

  1. It is cool that it can be done over the air, but sooo many reboots and losing your APN details…?

    Comment by David | November 1, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

