John Galea's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Exercise based GPS

A long time ago I was heading into a large forest (Ganaraska foret) mountain biking. An urban legend had been spread about someone that had got lost and ended up spending the night there. So I asked a friend if I could borrow his hand held GPS, a hot new gadget back then. The device was the size of a walkie takie and weighed a lot. A list of all of the GPS devices I’ve played with.

A lot has passed since then and I’ve played with many ways of including GPS into my exercise. I wouldn’t go mountain biking with my Foretrex 401 . I love it for helping me remember spots around me, displaying my heart rate, and even recording where I’ve been for analysis, mapping an sharing when I get back. I have it mounted on my handle bars of my bike so it can be easily viewed while riding.

I started playing with RunGPS on Windows mobile a long time ago. With the demise of Windows Mobile as a viable platform I looked for alternatives on the iPhone such as iMapmyRide but was disappointed by the lack of ability to add a heart rate monitor, the then poor multi tasking of iOS etc.

When I moved to Android I discovered that RunGPS was available for Android. So I jumped in and gave it a try. The folks at RunGPS graciously allowed me to transfer my license from Windows Mobile to Android so no cost boost. They have been incredibly patient with me as I have changed my devices MANY times since my original purchase of the program. The licensing is directly tied to your IMEI so you have to get a new license from them each time you change your phone (which for me is frequent).

The addition of bluetooth heart rate monitors into Android 2 added another dimension to an already fabulous program. So I bought and reviewed a Zephyr and I’ve been using that with RunGPS. The portal they have is great. The program works well and has become quite stable. I looked and looked for a simple GPS program that would allow me to simply record waypoint (preferably be able to import them from my existing data base from my Garmin devices). Sure enough I came back again and again to RunGPS. The program really is the Swiss Army knife of exercise based GPS. It does it all:

1) Simple navigation


2) ability to import and export waypoints
3) portal based mapping for sharing sample map
4) heart rate monitor support
5) flexible user changeable data screens

the whole enchilada.

I really like how from the device over the cellular network you can upload your maps instantly. If there was anything missing it would be integration with social networks like twitter or facebook, or an ability from the device to email a link to what you have uploaded.

Now all this functionality does not come cheap, $20 for the full version and $41 for the pro. But I must say I’ve used this program a LOT and love it. I highly recommend it. It’s always great when you can overlap your passions. For me, mountain biking and my gadgets! Fun fun. Available for Android and Windows Mobile. Sorry no iPhone version.

April 6, 2011 - Posted by | Android, GPS Stuff

4 Comments »

  1. HI!
    nice Blog…Great to know…
    garmin hand held gps is an excellent discovery of its kind!!

    Comment by Peter Williams | May 13, 2011 | Reply

  2. thank you for the awesome page! I have been checking for something like to
    this. I will be subscribing your rss so i do not miss out the good things!

    again, terrific web page remember to keep it up! Please pardon me if
    my english is bad.

    Comment by conair dog clippers | March 21, 2013 | Reply

    • Thanks for your kind remarks. Great to know people are reading and enjoying my blog! I enjoy playing with the gadgets and then sharing my experience!

      Comment by johngalea | March 21, 2013 | Reply

  3. Wow, incredible weblog format! How lengthy have you ever been blogging for?
    you make running a blog look easy. The full glance of your web site is magnificent, as smartly as the content material!

    Comment by Marcela | May 1, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

