John Galea's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

DLNA

Some time ago a new standard for sharing and playing content (movies, pictures and music) across many different platforms was created called DLNA. I have to admit I have been slow to look into this. Microsoft went on about it in their Windows 7 advertising. The idea is that content should be able to come from anywhere on your network and be played back to any device. While this lofty goal would be awesome in a perfect world, we don’t live in a perfect world. Interoperability especially across disparate technologies (like Windows, Android, Mac, Linux etc) has always been sketchy at best. The first thing to get me to look into playing with DLNA was when I discovered a DLNA client on my Motorola Droid Pro. Looking further I discovered Samsung included it into the Samsung Galaxy Tab and called it AllShare. HTC included it but put it behind the scenes. Looking into Windows 7 I discovered it is there by default just waiting to be enabled. There’s lots of articles out there for how to do it on Windows. WDLXTV (the replacement ROM for the Western Digital Live player) also includes it as well. Windows Server 2008R2 does not have DLNA support but there is a free ap to add it back called TVersity. So with a little bit of playing and configuring, and it really didn’t take much I was able to get it working. Now you can use it to share content from your Windows devices to your Android devices but for me the interesting part is to be able to stream music from my phone to my Windows PC that is connected to my home stereo. This works quite well. Android often turns the WIFI off after a period of time so you will need to disable this or your music playback will not be smooth.

I’m shocked at how different the DLNA interface is across platforms, but I’m equally shocked that this actually works!

So as an example of what this can do I was watching a show on my Galaxy Tab on the way home. Once I got home I took the output over DLNA and outputted to my media center PC so I could finish watching it on the big screen. Now all was not simple. First I needed to start media player on the media center PC and maximize it. Then I started AllShare (Samsung’s DLNA client) and restarted the video I was watching. Fast forwarded to where I left off and levoila. It worked. Very cool, ok in a geeky kind of way!

More reading on DLNA.

January 6, 2012 - Posted by | Android, Mutlimedia

1 Comment »

  1. Great Article buddy, we cover DLNA on all kinds of platforms over at Home System Integration. Feel free to stop by!

    Comment by Tom Abell | January 29, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

