John Galea's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Blackberry OS 10.2 update process

This is a quick post to let you know the Blackberry 10.2 update is out. I got mine last night after a colleague pointed out it was available! Thanks Jeff! This update promises to fix a number of the limitations I noted in my in depth review of the Z10. I will in a separate post let you know what’s fixed in this release. This post is just about the update process.

You can see the update is available manually by going to settings Software update. This release 10.2.0.424 is a big update. It’s 1019MB! Blackberry force you to do this over WIFI. For some odd reason I could not get the desktop app (Blackberry Link) to see that there was an update available. It kept saying it was up to date. This has to be one of the larger phone OS’s I’ve seen.

For me the download took 1 hour and 5 minutes. I can only imagine how many people are downloading this at the same time. Once downloaded it starts to install. For me this took 25 minutes. Then comes the reboot. Once rebooted the phone sits on a Blackberry text for about 10 minutes before you finally see the typical blackberry boot logo. I almost thought it had hung. Then another 5 minutes for first boot. In all this process to me 1 hour and 45 minutes. So don’t try this unless you have lots of time. As usual the process can not be interrupted (other than the download). And you really ought to have a fully charged battery to start.

Now onto see what’s new!

October 24, 2013 - Posted by | Blackberry 10

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

