John Galea's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Fido Home phone

Every now and then a new product hits the market that makes you go huh … what’s that? This is one of those (for me).

I’ve been using VOIP in the house for a while now using an OBI 100 VOIP adapter (with Anveo as my VOIP provider). It works well but I have an issue that the torrents I run constantly in the house makes the call quality inconsistent. Sometimes it works well, others not so well. Cost is great. Ability to setup a ring group so a call rings on both my home phone, my cell etc is terrific. The way the voicemail get’s sent to your email is very convenient (especially when you travel). I can even use SIP.FM (a free SIP VOIP Client) on my BB10 phone to replace long distance on the Go!

Back to this device. As a current Fido customer they are offering $10 a month for unlimited Canada wide calling. Woh! This includes incoming (so you get a number) and outgoing. What a bargain. There is a $30 initial fee (to pay for the bridge). Sadly you can not use your Fido $$s to pay for it. I looked into it to see what options they offer. Sadly there is no Rogers One Number like services. No ability to have it ring multiple places. No ability to have it mirror your existing cell number. Nada. It is 100% a stand alone new phone number. It does come with voicemail and call display for this price.

whp_3eaysteps-v2_en

So how does this work? Well they give you a ZTE WF720. This device acts as a bridge between your existing phone lines in your home and the cell network. So you use your normal in home corded and cordless phones and the phone calls go out the Fido cell network. The device even uses a standard size SIM. Very interesting! I tried to put the SIM in a normal cell phone but they have been smart and this does not work. The phone sees the SIM, sees the phone number attached to the SIM but isn’t allowed on the network. Pooh.

The bridge isn’t that bright. It will give a dial tone back to the phone even when there is no cell signal. So unless your near the bridge you will have no idea if it were down for some reason. And there are no voice prompts from the device either. So a little disappointing there.

All in all call quality is fine. If you have a cell signal in your area this definitely gives you a cheap home phone WITH 911 service (something VOIP either doesn’t give or kludges).

That’s about it. Pretty simple inexpensive offering. No bells or whistles, it just does it’s thang.

March 10, 2014 - Posted by | Electronic gadget reviews

7 Comments »

  1. Any idea if it works reliably?

    Comment by Vik | October 30, 2014 | Reply

    • Yes I’ve been using it since I wrote the article. It has been solid. It will need a reliable cell signal wherever you put the base unit.

      Comment by johngalea | October 30, 2014 | Reply

  2. Hi! Thanks for your post – I’m thinking of getting this. Just have a two-part question which to clarify. Can I use a phone with multiple handsets? And is the reception equally good throughout the house for these other handsets – I mean say for example if the handset you are using is far from the “bridge”? Thanks for any help you can offer with that! Wil.

    Comment by Wil | December 2, 2014 | Reply

    • Yes you an use multiple handsets. I’m sure there is a limit but I have no idea what that might be. Reception quality is just like a cell phone. As long as you can get a good cell signal where the base is, quality will be comparable to a cell.

      Comment by johngalea | December 3, 2014 | Reply

  3. Unfortunately the call display only shows phone numbers. Have to pay $2.00 extra for names to be displayed. Not sure if it works. We will see.

    Comment by Janny | May 10, 2015 | Reply

  4. My Mother has a Fido home phone as well as cell phone. It works well for her except when I try to call from my home phone. It rings 4 times then goes to voice mail although she is at home. She does not have this issue with anyone else calling in. If I call her Fido home phone with my cell, I get through but not with my home phone. Does anyone have any idea why this is happening. I’ve called Rogers, who my home phone is with and Fido but they have been unable to help so far.

    Comment by Sharon | January 2, 2016 | Reply

    • Sorry, no idea. Sounds like an odd one for sure.

      Comment by johngalea | January 2, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

