John Galea's Blog

My blog on Gadgets and the like

VEEKTOMX Mini Power Bank 10000mAh review

I last reviewed the Luxtude battery pack for an iPhone and loved it, and it’s still soldiering on. Small, light weight, has a built in cable and a fast efficient quick charger. As our phones are aging the batteries are getting weaker. My iPhone XS for example sits at 85% of it’s original capacity after almost 3.5 years (Nov 2019), come to think of it, this is probably the longest I’ve kept a phone … And this is with all of Apple’s so called battery charging optimizations. And the GF’s iPhone 8, which she inherited from me, is even worse. So battery packs have been the simple solution. You can pay to have battery replaced but is it worth it?

So I thought I would grab another battery pack … I would have just bought another Luxtude, but the seller had jacked the price from $31 which I thought was excellent, to $75, which irked me. Well spoiler alert 4 packs later I actually, finally, have one that REALLY is a quick charger for an iPhone. For reference, and for me what is the benchmark the Luxtude charges the iPhone XS from 9% to 57% in 30 mins for an average of 1.54%/min. Here’s the wonderful design of the Luxtude.

So first up I tried the TNTOR Portable Charger,Ultra Slim Power Bank with Built in Cables,5000mAh which managed a pathetic 14 to 35% in 30 mins or a measly 0.7%/hr … The specs said it could output the full 10W an iPhone can take at low charge … NOT. So back it went. SKIP IT

Next up I tried another product from the same company, which also said it could do 10W TNTOR Portable Charger for iPhone Built in Lightning Cable(MFi Apple Certified), 3500mAh Ultra Slim External Battery Pack, Fast Charging Power Bank. Not surprisingly this one also came in with underwhelming charge numbers as well 14% to 35% in 30 mins or 0.7%/min. So once again, thank goodness for Apples return policy.

So I thought to myself, let’s get a bigger battery pack with more cells maybe that will be able to dish out the full 10W. Finding one with a lighting cable restricts you in choices, but I like the convenience. So I bought TG90 10000mAh Power Bank with Built in Lightning Cable, but only after I reached out to the seller and confirmed the pack supports quick charging of my iPhone XS. And indeed the specs once again say it can supply the full 10W. And yet again, the results were abysmal clocking in 12 to 34% in 30 mins or a turtle speed of .7%/hr … And again, another return. I don’t understand these companies, why embellish? Of course there’s an old joke, what’s the difference between a computer salesman and a car salesman? The car salesman knows he’s lieing … I digress as so often happens 😉

Ok with all that fan fair, we finally come to the topic of this post, a VEEKTOMX Mini Power Bank 10000mAh, Ultra Compact Small Portable Charger, PD 22.5W Fast Charge Battery Pack.

This is QUITE small a little larger than a credit card, but reasonably thick and it weighs in at 168g (the Luxtude was 135g for reference). It comes with a unique display that shows the exact percentage of the battery pack as well as a charge indicator, I really like this display. It can be charged by a USB-C or a Micro-USB, which, spec wise shows either Type-C Input 5V/3.0A 9V/2.0A or Micro USB Input 5V/2.0A 9V/2.0A, so it just depends on which charger you have as to how long recharging is gonna take. Output wise this can drive a USB-C, or a USB-A, again spec wise this means USBA Output 4.5V/5.0A 5V/4.5A 9V/2.0A 12V/1.5A or Type-C Output 5V/3.0A 9V/2.2A 12V/1.5A. This should EASILY be able to have an iPhone, my iPad and in an emergency, power but not charge my laptop, MAYBE. So first up I used the Apple supplied lightning cable plugged into USB-A and charging went from 8 to 52% in 30 mins or a rate of 1.47%/min which is pretty close to the Luxtude’s 1.54%/min meaning in 30 mins the difference is ONLY 4%. I bought a USB-C, MFI (made for iPhone/iPad) certified 6″ cable which will be more convenient for the pocket. It was not cheap at $16. Oh well … with that cable the iPhone went from 10% to 59% in 30mins or 1.63%/min, which is actually above the Luxtude ever so slightly. From an efficiency point of view I measure the battery pack is about 73% efficient which is below the Luxtude’s 83%, but honestly the number for Luxtude is not quite as accurate. The percent indicator on this pack makes this a LOT easier. Recharge from a USB-C adapter pulled 20W and charged from dead in 3 hr 22 mins.

So overall this is a good, well made, flexible battery pack that delivers what it says!

June 13, 2023 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a comment